Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

1968, Ópera contemporánea premiers at Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires


A collective creation of Nicolás Varchausky, Matías Feldman and Marcelo Brodsky who will perform until December 16th in the room of the Experimentation Centre of Teatro Colón of Buenos Aires



The Experimental Centre of the Teatro Colón, premieres 68. Contemporary opera, a proposal that invites us to think about ’68 as a prism that reflects and projects critical questions and reflections that challenge us today. With musical composition, sound design and real-time electronics by Nicolás Varchausky; direction, dramaturgy and set design by Matías Feldman; and photographic exhibition by Marcelo Brodsky.


It will have seven performances on Thursday 6th, Friday 7th, Wednesday 12th, Thursday 13th and Saturday 15th December at 20:00, and on Sundays 9th and 16th December at 5:00 p.m.


The student and popular mobilizations around the world in 1968 marked the last decades of the 20th century. Young people and workers took to the streets of the big cities to demand more political freedom, more sexual freedom, more presence in the decisions of society. These movements swollen with a transforming force were also plagued with contradictions. How was 68 built in our imagination? What happened in Latin America and other parts of the periphery of the world? How is it projected onto the 21st century? Do contemporary urban social and student movements actualize that spirit?


Based on a proposal from the CETC to create an opera within the framework of the 50 years of May 68, Matías Feldman, Nicolás Varchausky and Marcelo Brodsky (who has been developing his work 1968. The fire of ideas) face this creative collaboration. A contemporary opera that proposes to think about ’68 as a prism that reflects and projects critical questions and reflections that challenge us today. The direction and meaning of these reflections / reflections cross epochs and continents.



Musical Composition, Sound Design and Real-Time Electronics: Nicolás Varchausky

Direction, Dramaturgy, Set Design, Drawing and Realization: Matías Feldman

Photographic Exhibition: Marcelo Brodsky

Voices: Ensamble Vocal Camera XXI

Ensemble Direction: Miguel Pesce

Rude Voice: Agustín Genoud

Voice Off: Hernán Lewkowicz

Foley Artists: Miren Begoña Cortázar and Nicolás Mannara

Placing Sonora: Mariano Cura and Daniel Hernández

Lighting Design: Ricardo Sica

Video Design: Marcelo Brodsky and Alejandro Chaskielberg


To buy your tickets click here.