Teatro Nacional Sucre de Quito

Address: Manabi N8-131 Entre Guayaquil y Flores
Phone: +59 30 2295 1661
Web: www.teatrosucre.com
Facebook: teatrosucreQ


Abstract: The Sucre National Theater, administered by the Sucre National Theater Foundation (FTNS), belongs to the Municipality of Quito. It was inaugurated on November 25, 1886 with the presentation of the Parisian pianist Captain Voyer. This neoclassical theater was designed by the German Francisco Schmit. After a temporary closure, to expand and remodel, the theater was entrusted to the Municipality of Quito and opened its doors in November 2003. Since then it maintains a sustained annual program, hosting national and international productions in all the scenic genres. The FTNS also administers the Variedades and México theaters, and hosts seven stable cast, with the Metropolitan Symphonic Band, the Andean Instrument Orchestra and the Mixed Choir, the most outstanding. Among the most representative festivals are: Ecuador Jazz and Sacred Music International. Since its reopening the production of original productions begins: Manuela and Bolivar, Dido and Aeneas, Hansel and Gretel, The Magic Flute, Carmen; in recent years, Faust, La Rondine, Suor Angelica and Gianni Schicchi, L’elisir d’amore, Cosi fan tutte and Luisa Fernanda, and the musical Sweeney Todd, West Side Story, Spring Awakening and Les Miserables stand out.