The Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra will honor the composer Manuel De Falla on the 75th anniversary of his death

On Saturday September 18 at 8:00 p.m., the Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra, under the musical direction of Enrique Arturo Diemecke along with the performances of the pianist Lilia Salsano, and the mezzo-soprano Cecilia Díaz, will offer its seventh concert in 2021.


The musical program will include two works by Igor Stravinsky: Symphony for winds and Concerto for piano and winds, as well as the performance of the work El Amor Brujo by Manuel de Falla, in a tribute on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of his death.


Manuel De Falla is one of the most important Spanish composers of the first half of the 20th century. He was a representative of musical nationalism. He composed operas, operettas, works for orchestras, and ballets, for choir, piano, and guitar. After the Spanish Civil War, he went into exile in Buenos Aires, participated in a series of concerts, and premiered the suite “Tributes” at the Teatro Colón. In 1945 he was appointed a member of the National Academy of Fine Arts.


Tickets are already on sale and can be purchased online through


Also in person at the physical ticket office of Tu Entrada that operates on Viamonte 560 (Local 5) from Monday to Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.


The Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra won two Platinum Konex Awards as the best Argentine orchestra of the last two decades, in 1999 and 2009. In 2017 the Association of Music Critics of Argentina distinguished it with the “Best Argentine Symphony Orchestra” Award 2016, an award that he also obtained in 2014 and 2012. In 2019 he received the Diploma of Merit from the Konex Foundation in the Argentine orchestra category.


Enrique Arturo Diemecke has been Artistic and Production Director General of the Teatro Colón since 2017. He has been Artistic Director of the Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra for 14 years and 31 years as Artistic Director of the Flint Symphony Orchestra, Michigan (United States). Notable interpreter of Mahler’s works, in 2019 he was appointed Honorary President of the Mahler Mexico Society and received a medal by the same Society for his versions of his versions of the composer’s complete symphonies in Mexico, Colombia and Argentina. He was Artistic Director of the Opera de Bellas Artes de México in the ’80s and’ 90s, where he directed more than thirty lyrical productions.


Lilia Salsano is a National Senior Piano Professor graduated from the Universidad Nacional del Litoral. She was awarded in national and international competitions, and awarded a scholarship by the Ministry of Culture of the Province of Santa Fe. Ella Lilia is the first pianist to interpret and record the Integral Work for Piano Solo by the composer Virtú Maragno. She frequently performs at festivals and concerts as a soloist, with orchestras and in chamber music groups, in Europe, the United Kingdom, South America and the United States. She highlights her recital during the Martha Argerich Festival (Buenos Aires), the Echoes Festival of Classical Latin Music (London) and the SONUS International Music Festival 2020 and 2021 (USA).


Cecilia Díaz is a mezzo-soprano with an outstanding national and international career. She studied at the Gilardo Gilardi Conservatory, the Faculty of Fine Arts in La Plata, and at the Instituto Superior de Arte del Teatro Colón. In 1993 she traveled to Vienna on a scholarship from the Fundación Teatro Colón to participate in the final rounds of the Hans Gabor Belvedere Competition, and in 1994 she won the Operalia competition, sponsored by Plácido Domingo, with whom she shared concerts and made her debut at the Royal Opera House in London. That same year she made her debut at the Teatro Colón, where she performed Don Carlo, Werther, L ’incoronazione di Poppea, Fausto, Sansón and Dalila, among other works. In 1999 she received a Diploma of Merit as an Argentine singer at the Konex Awards for the best figures of Argentine Classical Music.


Musical Program


Director: Enrique Arturo Diemecke


Soloists: Cecilia Díaz, mezzo-soprano


Lilia Salsano, piano


Falla Project (2021/2026)


Stravinsky: Symphony for Winds


Stravinsky: Concerto for Piano and Winds


M. de Falla: El amor brujo